For the first time in history Dynamo was managed to defend the title.

Before the season CSKA Moscow was named the main contender for the trophy. Since 1954 Army Men never allowed anybody to win two straight titles. The reality changed players started to move in other countries. It reflected on our team; players moved not only to NHL but mostly to Europe.

Head coach Vladimir Yurzinov started to use young players like Ravil Yakubov, Alexei Kovalev, Andrei Nikolishin, Andrei Trefilov. Igor Korolyov, Alexei Zhamnov, Alexander Karpovtsev became the real leaders of that Dynamo team. Captain Evgeny Popikhin was included in All-Star team of the season.

Dynamo finished first part of the championship in third place. The second stage started after New Year and it became a showtime for goalie Trefilov who started the season as third netminder. He finished the season as main goalie of national team at World Championship.

Like last season Dynamo clinched the title after the game against Spartak Moscow. Alexander Semak for the second straight year became the author of golden goal.